Boom Shaka

Boom Shaka was a pioneering kwaito music group from South Africa, consisting of Junior Sokhela, Lebo Mathosa, Theo Nhlengethwa and ThembiSeete. Their first album was produced in 1994. Boom Shaka’s first single “It’s About Time” was released in 1993.

Boom Shaka became one of the most successful bands of the mid-1990s in South Africa and their music became the soundtrack for many young people in the newly democratic South Africa. Boom Shaka was able to break into the international market and achieved success outside of South Africa in London among other places. Boom Shaka, being one of the leading kwaito groups in South Africa, has an extreme affect on youth audiences throughout the country.

To begin, Boom Shaka was purposefully put together in order to appeal to a youth audience by presenting a new sound and a new style. Today, they are continually sweeping the charts and propelling in the youth audiences due to their distinctive sound, visual style, and dance moves. Boom Shaka is known for creating popular and distinctive kwaito dance moves such as “Chop di Grass”.

These sexy kwaito dance moves add to their popularity. This uniqueness is propelling Boom Shaka’s music in the youth radio charts and on a global level as well.1 The major presence of female vocalists in the group, specifically, the artists Lebo Mathosa and ThembiSeete have been seen as both modes of female objectification and simultaneously voices for the feminist movement.

The style of dancing and dress has stirred controversy among South African listeners as it invokes a type of female sexuality that many find degrading. The artists, however, would prefer to see their music as a liberating force. This sentiment is especially reflected in their track It’s About Time produced on their debut album, Boom Shaka.


It´s Our Game (No Need To Claim)



1. Thobela

2. Shebeleza

3. Ibuhlungu

4. It´s Our Game

5. It´s On

6. Digong Love

7. High

8. Party Goes On

9. Black Natural Woman

10. Thobela

11. Sunny Day

12. Ride On Dub


It´s About Time



1. It´s About Time

2. KwereKwere

3. It´s Alright

4. Tshiketa-Kurela

5. O-We-O

6. Love Taken Over

7. Siya-Khala

8. Chap-Choo-Be-Do

9. Get Boogie Et

10. Hey-Hey-Hey

11. On Your Feet

12. I Like The Way


7th Anniversary

Released: 2001


1. Makwere

2. It´s About Time

3. Siyakhala

4. Qcwala

5. It´s On

6. Thobela

7. Get Boogie

8. Free

9. Lerato

10. Bambanani

11. HambaKahle






1. On& On

2. Lerato

3. Change

4. Ballgame

5. Bambanani

6. Vukani

7. If You Love Boom

8. It´s No True

9. Lerato Dub


Rebel Lion!



1. Beggar in a Goldmine

2. Dis Dem a Dis

3. Burden & Time

4. Press Along

5. Smoke

6. Which Rebel?

7. Next to You

8. Unite

9. Sunshine

10. The World Is What It Is

11. Sign o’ the Times

12. All Roads

13. Praises to the King


Words Of Wisdom



1. NkosiSikelela

2. Chandi Dance

3. Don´t be ashamed

4. Free

5. Gcwala (Halo Remix)

6. Ain´t no Stoppin us now

7. Crazy Song

8. Nothing ever Changes

9. On and On

10. Madlamini

11. Mapogoto

12. My Woman

13. Tell Me

14. Chow ChowChow!

15. Thank you

16. Gcwala (DJ Christos ´98 Remix)


Aint No Stoppin´ (Us Now)



1. Aint No Stoppin´ (Us Now)

2. Gcwala (Ashamed Dub Mix)

3. Party Time

4. Gcwala (Halo Remix)

5. Gcwala (Instrumental)

6. Party Time (Junior Mix)


Be Sociable, Share!